If you're an Account Admin, you'll do a better job managing your Roadmunk account if you have a good understanding of the different roles that account users can have and how these roles work together with permissions to control access to Roadmunk features and actions. 

Three roles; Three permissions

There are three possible roles a user can have in Roadmunk: 

  1. Reviewer
  2. Collaborator
  3. Account Admin

Each role has its own level of permissions to access the application's features and actions. 

Reviewers can:

  • View and comment on roadmaps that are shared with them

This role suits people at the Director or Executive level who want to review cross-functional roadmaps.

Collaborators can: 

  • Do everything a Reviewer can do PLUS 
  • Create and own roadmaps
  • Edit and delete their roadmaps
  • Share their roadmaps with Reviewers and other Collaborators
  • Edit roadmaps that are shared with them
  • Create, edit, share, merge, and delete fields

This role suits the majority of users, who want to roadmap their own products, epics, initiatives, and projects. 

Account Admins can:

  • Do everything a Collaborator can do PLUS
  • View, edit, share, and delete ANY roadmap in the account
  • Edit, share, merge, and delete ANY field in the account
  • Star and un-star fields
  • Manage users and billing
  • Access security logs (if enabled)

This role suits administrators in an organization who want to onboard their team and manage roadmaps at the departmental level.

Permissions

Working together with these roles are three distinct permissions:

  1. Owner
  2. Editor
  3. Viewer

Roadmunk assigns these permissions to each of the three roles as appropriate, and the permissions are then assigned to each user based on their role. Permissions are applied at the Account, Roadmap, and Field level.

User permissions

User permissions determine how Reviewers, Collaborators, and Account Admins can access Roadmunk features and actions across the application. For example, Collaborators are assigned all three User permissions (Owner, Editor, and Viewer) because Collaborators must be able to create, own, and edit roadmaps.

User permissions at a glance

Here's a table showing how User permissions are assigned to each user role.

Roadmap permissions

Roadmap permissions determine how Reviewers, Collaborators, and Account Admins can each interact with a particular roadmap.

Roadmap ownership

Only Collaborators and Account Admins can create and own roadmaps. Every roadmap in Roadmunk has an Owner. The person who creates a roadmap automatically becomes its Owner.

Transferring ownership

An Owner can transfer ownership of a roadmap to another Collaborator or Account Admin. Roadmaps can have only one Owner at a time. When ownership is transferred, the original Owner automatically becomes an Editor (see Sharing roadmaps).

Sharing roadmaps

Roadmaps can be shared with any user in the same Roadmunk account. Only Owners can share their roadmaps. 

With Account Admins. When an Owner shares a roadmap with an Account Admin, the Account Admin is automatically added as an Editor.

With Collaborators. When an Owner shares a roadmap with a Collaborator either, they add them to the roadmap as either an Editor OR a Viewer

With Reviewers. When an Owner shares a roadmap with a Reviewer, they can only add them to the roadmap as a Viewer

An Owner can edit a roadmap’s sharing permissions at any time.

Collaborating on roadmaps

Users can do different things with a roadmap depending on whether they're the Owner or have been added to the roadmap as an Editor or a Viewer (see Roadmap permissions at a glance).

NOTE: Although Collaborators have Editor User permissions, their Roadmap permissions to a shared roadmap depend on whether they are added as an Editor or a Viewer. 

Deleting roadmaps

Roadmap Owners can delete any roadmap they own. Account Admins can delete ANY roadmap in a Roadmunk account.

Roadmap permissions at a glance

Here's a table showing what Owners, Editors, and Viewers can each do with a roadmap they own or share.

IMPORTANT: Because of their special permissions, Account Admins can do everything an Owner can do even if the roadmap hasn't been shared with them. 

Master Roadmap permissions at a glance

Here's a table showing what Owners and Viewers can do with a Master roadmap.

NOTE: Master roadmaps can only be shared as Viewers. There are no Master roadmap Editors.

IMPORTANT: Because of their special permissions, Account Admins can do everything an Owner can do even if the Master roadmap hasn't been shared with them. 

Field permissions

Field permissions determine how Reviewers, Collaborators, and Account Admins can each interact with a particular field.

Field ownership

Only Collaborators and Account Admins can create and own fields. Every field in Roadmunk has an Owner. The person who creates a field automatically becomes its Owner.

Transferring ownership

An Owner can transfer ownership of a field to another Collaborator or Account Admin. Fields can have only one Owner at a time. When ownership is transferred, the original Owner automatically becomes a field Editor.

Sharing fields

Unlike roadmaps, fields can' be shared with Reviewers. They can be shared only with Collaborators and Account Admins in the same Roadmunk account, and only as Editors

Both field Owners and Editors can share a field and edit share settings. 

Editing and merging fields

Both Owners and Editors can edit and merge fields they own or share.

NOTE: To merge fields, a user must at least be the Owner or an Editor of the source field. If values are added to the destination field as a result of the merge, the user must also be the Owner or an editor of the destination field (see Merge fields). 

Deleting fields

Both Owners and Editors can delete a field they own or share. Account Admins can delete ANY field in a Roadmunk account.

Field permissions at a glance

Here's a table showing what Owners and Editors can do with a field.

NOTE: To merge fields, a user must at least be the Owner or an Editor of the source field. If values are added to the destination field as a result of the merge, the user must also be the Owner or an editor of the destination field (see Merge fields).

IMPORTANT:
Because of their special permissions, Account Admins can do everything an Owner can do even if the field hasn't been shared with them. 

Did this answer your question?