Duplicating a roadmap

There are two ways to duplicate a roadmap: from your Roadmap Home and from the roadmap itself.

From your roadmap home

1. If you are not already in your roadmap home, click the Home icon on the upper-left corner of the application screen.

2. In the My Roadmaps tab, select the roadmap you want to duplicate.
3. On the roadmap toolbar, click the Duplicate icon.
TIP: If the icon is grayed-out, you don't have permission to duplicate the roadmap (see Who can duplicate a roadmap? below).  

4. In the Duplicate Roadmap dialog, enter a new name (Title) for the duplicate roadmap.
5. If you want copy the original roadmap's sharing settings to the new roadmap, select the Share it with the same people checkbox.
TIP: To learn more, see What happens to data and sharing settings in a duplicated roadmap? below.
6. Click Duplicate.

From the roadmap

1. On the Roadmap navbar, click to open the Roadmap dropdown.
2.
In the dropdown, select Duplicate Roadmap.
TIP:
If the selection is grayed-out, you don't have permission to delete the roadmap (see Who can duplicate a roadmap? below).

3. In the Duplicate Roadmap dialog, enter a new name (Title) for the duplicate roadmap.
4. If you want copy the original roadmap's sharing settings to the new roadmap, select the Share it with the same people checkbox.
TIP: To learn more, see What happens to data and sharing settings in a duplicated roadmap? below.
5. Click Duplicate.

Who can duplicate a roadmap?

You can duplicate a roadmap if you are the Owner or if the roadmap has been shared with you as an Editor. If a roadmap has been shared with you as a Viewer, you have view-only access and can't duplicate it.
TIP: To find out more about ownership of a duplicated roadmap, see What happens to data and sharing settings in a duplicated roadmap? below.

To find out more about roadmap sharing and permissions, go to Sharing and collaboration in the Quick Guide and Share your roadmap in the Getting Started tutorial.

What happens to data and sharing settings in a duplicated roadmap?

Data

Data in the original roadmap is copied to the new roadmap as follows:

  • ALL items in the roadmap
  • The roadmap's views, including each view's associated visualization, filter set, and data pivots

Sharing settings

Sharing settings in the new roadmap are as follows:

  1. The user who duplicates a roadmap becomes the Owner of the new roadmap, regardless of whether that user was the Owner or an Editor of the original roadmap.
  2. If the Share it with the same people option is selected when duplicating the roadmap, the new roadmap inherits all Editors and Viewers from the original roadmap.
  3. If the option is NOT selected, the only user with access to the new roadmap is the Owner, as explained in item 1 above.

Did this answer your question?