Promoting
a field and Archiving a field can help to easily align your team on current initiatives and make sure that your team is using the correct data to categorize, define, and pivot data that's being shared across your account

When you Promote a field, you convert an existing field that was unique to a single roadmap into an account-wide field that can be used across all roadmaps on your account. The process to Promote a field is permanent - once you Promote a field to an Account Field, it can no longer be converted back into a Roadmap Field.

On the other hand - when you Archive an Account Field, you retain the visibility of the field in your roadmaps without having to remove it entirely from your account. Unlike when you Promote or Delete a field, the Archive process can be easily reversed and has no impact on existing roadmap data, filters, or pivots. 

Note: When you delete a field, the field is deleted permanently from your Roadmunk account. The field and all associated values are deleted from all roadmaps that are using it and any views that use the field to filter or pivot data are affected. 

Promoting a Field 

From the Field Card

From the field card, accessible through either your roadmap or the All Fields menu:

  1. Select the Promote button located beside the Update Field button in the bottom right-hand corner of the Field Card
  2. A confirmation window opens reminding you that this field will now be accessible account-wide, visible to all users on the account, and that that this change cannot be undone.
  3. When you're ready to finalize the process, click on the Promote button in the confirmation window. The field will update automatically from a Roadmap Field to an Account Field

From the All Fields Menu

From the All Fields or Roadmap Fields menus on your roadmapping homepage:

  1. Select the checkbox beside the field that you're looking to share with your team. Once selected, a toolbar will appear in the top right corner.
  2. From this toolbar, select the Promote button.
  3. A confirmation window opens reminding you that this field will now be accessible account-wide, visible to all users on the account, and that that this change cannot be undone.
  4. When you're ready to finalize the process, click on the Promote button in the confirmation window. The field will update automatically from a Roadmap Field to an Account Field

Archiving & Unarchiving a Field 

From the Field Card

From the field card, accessible through either your roadmap or the All Fields menu:

  1. Select the Archive button located beside the Merge button in the bottom left-hand corner of the Field Card
  2. A confirmation window opens confirming that you would like to Archive the field and how that would impact your team members who use that particular field.
  3. When you're ready to finalize the process, click on the Archive button in the confirmation window. The field will update automatically and will prevent any further changes from being made.
  4. To reverse this change, select the Unarchive button in the bottom left-hand corner of the Field Card - this will convert the field back into an Account Field

From the All Fields Menu

From the All Fields or Roadmap Fields menus on your roadmapping homepage:

  1. Select the checkbox beside the field that you're looking to Archive. Once selected, a toolbar will appear in the top right corner.
  2. From this toolbar, select the Archive button.
  3. A confirmation window will appear to confirm that you would like to Archive the field and how that would impact your team members who use that particular field.
  4. When you're ready to finalize the process, click on the Archive button in the confirmation window. The field will update automatically and will prevent any further changes from being made.

To reverse this change and convert the field back into an Account Field:

  1. Navigate to the Archived Fields folder on your roadmapping homepage.
  2. Select the checkbox beside the field that you're looking to Unarchive. Once selected, a toolbar will appear in the top right corner.
  3. Select the Unarchive option from the toolbar. A confirmation window will appear to confirm that you would like to Unarchive the field.
  4. When you're ready to finalize the process, click on the Unarchive button in the confirmation window. The field will update automatically and will be converted back into an Account Field.

Related Articles

Related Tags

Roadmapping, Fields, Field Management, Roadmap Fields, Account Fields, Promote Fields, Archive Fields, Unarchive Fields

Did this answer your question?